Wilde Like Me

img_20191026_165557_4061091861621024186992.jpg

Written by Louise Pentaland

Wilde Like Me has been on my radar for ages. I’ve watched Louise Pentland on YouTube for so long, for a long time it was just me and her videos on my old iPod touch in bed to pass the day (it’s a long story, maybe for another day) and was super excited when she announced she was writing a book! However it’s taken me a good 3 years to actually get and start reading the book… I’m not 100% sure why, I think it’s partly the whole YouTubers come authors thing that made me sceptical and I think I was just worried I wouldn’t enjoy it? Anyway I have now read it and loved it!

The book is written in such a believable way which is a credit to Louise and the fact that she is writing about something she fully understands. However, having watched her videos for the best part of 9 years it is difficult not to hear Louise in Robins character.

The story follows Robin Wilde a single mother to a 6 year old little girl Lyla. Robin is a part time make up artists assistant and tries to work around her daughter without relying too much on help from others around her.

Although it is clear that Robin loves her daughter and is so glad to have her she really struggles with the feeling of being alone, especially after Lyla goes to school and she now has wholes days to fill, in the evenings after Lyla has gone to sleep and there is no adult company or when Lyla goes to her dads.

Although I have not experienced these feelings, I think it was really obvious that the writer had and so they were very believable scenes in the book and key to the story. Especially when the story talks about how others see Robin, as fun, glamorous and outgoing, things that, as a reader, you can see she doesn’t feel. I think this is super important in highlighting how mental health and struggles can easily be hidden and why we should all look out for each other.

Towards the end of the book you start to see Robin take risks and stand up for herself which is fabulous to see, and made me do a wee cheer for her as I was reading!

As I have said I really enjoyed this book but I can understand why it has some negative reviews. There isn’t that much of a story-line but in some ways it doesn’t need it as it is following one mothers struggles with being alone and I think the main focus is dealing with the loneliness. I am also intrigued to see what the other books in this series are like as I think that now that the scene has been set there is a lot of scope.

I would recommended this book as easy reading by the pool on holiday etc. to those who love ‘chick lit’

Have you read any of Louise’s books? What did you think?

Happy reading!

cropped-thumbnail_bitmoji-20190810061729-1.png