The Lonely Fajita

Thank you to the publisher (Harper Collins), and NetGalley for an eArc of this book in exchange for an honest review 

Written by Abigail Mann

Honestly, I requested this book from NetGalley purely based on the title and cover. The Lonely Fajita seems like the perfect description of a lot of 20 somethings and wrapped up in the blanket, like the character is here looks very like how I spend my non-working hours! I’m not single, but a lot of my friends are and so I thought this book would be relatable and a funny, easy read.

This book follows Elissa, a 26 year old who is living in London and interning at a dating app start up company where she barely gets paid enough to get the underground to work and treat herself to a Greggs for lunch twice a week. Thankfully, she shares a room with her boyfriend who covers the cost of the rest in exchange for her making dinner a couple of nights a week. Elissa is bumbling along well until her boyfriend decides that he actually wants to go travelling in Asia and leaves her without a home or partner for the first time since her teens.

While visiting the Doctors for a smear test as some kind of sick birthday treat to herself, she finds an advert for ElderCare. A scheme which looks for volunteers to live in with and help the elderly in exchange for a free room to stay in.

The book was lighthearted and easy to read and I loved that it didn’t follow the typical rom-com approach to being newly single which I thought it might. Although part of me does feel like that it tried to cover too many different approaches and I would have preferred to focus on one or two.

I loved the character of Annie, the elderly lady who Elissa gets paired up with and I would love to hear more about her and her past. I also think Suki is a great character and would love to read a spin off focusing on her and her dating struggles!

This book is out one week today so if it sounds like your thing, or you just want some easy reading go and pre-order it! (If any local businesses are still letting you order online I would really recommend doing that to help support them in this difficult time, I will try and shares one that are.)

Happy reading!

Highland Book Fairy